Skip to content

Art Gallery/Shop

April 17, 2010

Yesterday I visited the Art Gallery of Western Australia to see the Annual Year 12 Perspectives Art Exhibition. I love going to see this exhibition each year, it is always inspiring to see new emerging artistic talent and some really original ideas coming through. I had a large painting in the 1998 Yr 12 Perspectives exhibition which was pretty special for me at the time! I highly recommend going this year while its still on. Two of my favourite pieces this year were:

Yr12-09-032-Glenister-Night-gathering-web

Ashleigh Glenister
Night gathering 2009
oil on canvas
122 x 152.4cm
Geraldton Grammar School TEE Art

(Ashleigh also had a fantastic life size Portrait of herself in School Uniform with her art apron on which was incredible)

Yr12-09-065-Caputi-Piecesofwar 

Rebecca Caputi

Pieces of war 2009

Santa Maria College

TEE Art

(the detail in this paper dress was amazing)

 

Quite often a trip to an Art Gallery is for me a great excuse to visit the associated Art Gallery Shop! Noteworthy Art Galleries and shops I have spent some hours at include the MOMA in New York, The Guggenheim New York, The Louvre & The Pompidou Centre Paris, The Museum Quarter Vienna, The NSW Gallery of Contemporary Art, The Art Gallery of NSW, The National Gallery Canberra… The Art Gallery of Western Australia’s shop doesn’t ever disappoint and I was pretty excited to see that they currently have 20% off all Furniture – they stock quite a range of gorgeous Kartell items including the Louis Ghost chairs and Componibili’s which I would LOVE LOVE LOVE… if only I had some disposable income to spend on furniture at the moment!!!

Gallery-Shop-Kartell-Retouched-Image-A_000 66%2024%20Kartell%20Componibili%20Anna%20Castelli%20Ferrieri

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 11:47 am

    I too love going to art exhibitions and I too had some art in my year 12 final exhibit. It was this colourful, dramatic BLOB. That is all I can say about it now. Little did I know I would still be making blobs (and making money from it) alllllll these years later (note: you did year 12 in 1998 .. I did it in 1987). oh my

Leave a Reply

